← All comparisons · All quadrupeds · Robot Glossary

Home Robot Dog Comparison ($1,500 to $4,500) Unitree Go2 vs Rover X1 vs Lite3 vs aibo vs D1 vs MagicDog vs FX Aegis

Comparison of seven full-size robot dogs that can be bought in the US for $1,500 to $4,500. All but aibo are 12–17 kg dogs with brushless motors that climb stairs and run on carpet, grass and gravel. Their price tiers decide two things, whether they can be programmed and whether they have voice AI. Ordered by starting price, with the cheapest buyable version of each compared.

Comparison table

Unitree Go2UnitreeRover X1DobotJueying Lite3DEEP RoboticsSony aiboSonyAgiBot D1 ProAgiBotMagicDogMagicLabFX AegisFaraday Future
Price
Price range$1,600 / $2,800 / $4,500$1,999 – $3,599$2,890 – $18,900$3,199.99$3,200 – $4,439$3,458 – $10,000 (reseller)$4,490 – $12,990
Version comparedAir $1,600 (Pro $2,800 adds voice AI and speed)Air $1,999 (Pro $2,799 adds AI voice)Basic $2,890aibo $3,199.99D1 Pro $3,200MagicDog Pro $3,458Aegis Pro $4,490
Ongoing costsNone listedNone listedNone listedAI Cloud Plan, $300 a year, needed for most featuresNone listedSubscription for LLM conversations (price not published)None listed
Motion
Top speed2.5 m/s (Pro 3.5 m/s)1.8 m/s2.5 m/sSlow indoor walk3.5 m/s3.0 m/s3.7 m/s
StairsYes16 cm steps18 cm stepsNo16 cm steps15 cm steps35 cm obstacles
Runtime1–2 h1–2 h (3–5 h with the large battery)1.5–2 hNot published (docks itself to charge)Not published1.5–3 h2 h, hot-swappable battery
Weight15 kg15 kg12 kg2.2 kg15.5 kg17 kg15 kg
Smarts
Sensors4D lidar, front cameraObstacle sensors (type not disclosed), UWB follow on the ProDepth cameraCameras, ToF depth sensor, touch sensors, 4 microphonesFront camera, IMU2D lidar, depth camera, 5 cameras, ultrasonic, microphone arrayNot listed for the Pro
Voice and AIGPT voice assistant on Pro and X, not the AirAI voice Q&A on Pro and Pro Flex, not the AirNone built inPet personality, learns faces and develops over time, no LLM chatNone built inOffline voice commands, LLM chat with a subscription, face screenNone listed
ProgrammingUnofficial community SDK only. Official SDK needs the EDU ($11,190+)Graphical programming. SDK only on the Explorer ($3,599)Official motion SDK and API on the BasicVisual programming and a limited cloud Web APINone. SDK needs the D1 EduGraphical programming. Full development on the $10,000 EDUNone. SDK needs the Pro Edu ($9,990)
Purchasing
Where to buy in the USUnitree direct, or US resellers for the ProINFFNI storeDeep Robotics US storeSony US storeAgiBot store, or resellers from $4,439Resellers such as Wellbots, made to orderAmazon US, sold by Faraday Future
Shipping to the USDirect orders ship within a month plus $399–1,000 freight. Resellers ship the Pro in daysPartial stock, free shipping (pre-sale label)Not statedAbout 4 daysAbout 2–4 weeks, from ChinaAbout 3 weeksAbout 1–2 weeks
Suggested ages16+16+16+8+18+16+16+

Highlighted cells are the strongest in their row. Speeds marked (est.) are not published by the maker. They come from owner measurements or the makers' gait code, explained on each robot page. Prices are US list prices as of September 2026. Each robot's page has full specs, sources and photos.

Which one fits

The robots