Next robot →

Zumi

Robolink (USA) · 2019

$179.99
AvailableVia SSH / web / bridgeRaspberry Pi ZeroPythonBlocklyCameraMachine learningPalm-sized
≤ 1 weekShipping: In stock at Robolink.
Remote control: The Zumi Dashboard runs in a browser on a Mac, Windows PC, Chromebook, iPad or Android tablet, connected to the robot over Wi-Fi. Python runs on the Pi Zero through the Jupyter notebooks the robot serves, and SSH access to the Pi also works (unconfirmed).

Overview

Zumi is a palm-sized self-driving car kit from San Diego's Robolink, built around a Raspberry Pi Zero, a Pi Camera and six infrared sensors. Students assemble it and then work through lessons on driving, sensors, computer vision and simple machine learning. The car learns colors, hand gestures and faces, reads QR codes and stop signs, and follows lines on a printed road mat. Lessons start in Blockly and move to Python in Jupyter notebooks running on the car itself. It launched on Kickstarter at CES 2019, and Robolink ran Zumi self-driving competitions for students. The Pi Zero is slow for heavy vision and has no encoders, so it suits classroom AI lessons more than real mapping. A larger Pi car like the PiCar-X has more compute headroom but no ready-made AI curriculum of the same kind.

At a glance
Type
Wheeled robot · Ready-made dev rovers
Maker
Robolink (USA)
Released
2019
Price
$179.99
Status
Available
Best for
Ages 10+
Programming
Full SDK

Price and shipping

$179.99 for one Zumi kit (SKU RL-ZM-100) on the Robolink store, listed as available in an October 2026 check. A Classroom Set of 10 kits with 30 minutes of professional development is $1,799.90. Activity cards ($25), a Driving School mat ($49.99) and a Zumitown mat ($124.99) are sold separately. The kit includes the Raspberry Pi Zero, Pi Camera, microSD card, LiPo battery and a screwdriver, so nothing else is needed. Kickstarter pledges in early 2019 started around $148 (£114).

Shipping: In stock at Robolink. Robolink sells the kit directly from its online store, and it showed as available in an October 2026 check. Robolink is based in San Diego, and its shipping origin and times are not stated on the product page (unconfirmed). Robolink ↗

Specifications

CategoryWheeled rovers · Ready-made dev rovers
Released2019
CountryUSA
AvailabilityAvailable
ProgrammabilityFull SDK
Built-in autonomyReactive · Responds to its surroundings without a map, such as avoiding obstacles or following a person
LLM supportPossible via SDK · Programmed in Blockly or Python through the Zumi library, with no LLM features. Its machine-learning lessons train small models such as a KNN color classifier on the robot. Zumi Python function documentation ↗
MuJoCo simulationNone found · Nothing found.
NVIDIA Isaac simulationNone found · Nothing found.
Gazebo simulationNone found · Nothing found.
Best forAges 10+ (maker rating)
Vision sensorsCamera
ActuatorsDC / gear motors
AudioSpeaker
Compute typeRaspberry Pi, Arduino / ESP32 / microcontroller
Remote controlVia SSH / web / bridge
Size95 × 67 × 70 mm (3.7 × 2.6 × 2.8 in), 153 g
Drive2-wheel differential drive with two DC gear motors and no wheel encoders. The gyro keeps it driving straight and times its turns
ComputeRaspberry Pi Zero, likely the Zero W Wi-Fi model (unconfirmed), on a Robolink main board whose Arduino-programmed microcontroller drives the motors, sensors, OLED and lights over I2C (chip model unconfirmed)
VisionRaspberry Pi Camera (front-facing, resolution set in code, Robolink examples run from 60×32 to 1280×960)
LidarNone
SensorsSix infrared sensors (front left and right, back left and right, two facing down for line following), gyroscope and accelerometer (MPU), battery voltage, 128×64 OLED face screen, buzzer, headlights, brake lights and turn signals
Runtime3.7 V 950 mAh LiPo, about 40 minutes per the spec table (about 1 hour per the kit contents list), 1 hour charge
SpeedNot published
SDKZumi Dashboard served from the robot to a web browser, with Blockly lessons and Python in Jupyter notebooks. The Zumi Python library (function docs v2.92) covers driving, IR, gyro, OLED, sound and lights, plus OpenCV-based face, smile, stop-sign and QR detection, line following and a KNN color classifier. Firmware for the main board is open source (Arduino)

Timeline

  1. Campaign launchedRobolink launched Zumi on Kickstarter during CES 2019, with pledges from around $148 (£114). EFTM ↗
  2. Estimated deliveryRobolink planned to start shipping Zumi worldwide in May 2019. Stuff.tv ↗
  3. Trade showRobolink held the first Zumi self-driving competition, a ride-share pickup challenge, at UC San Diego. Robolink ↗
  4. UpdateZumi Dashboard 2.92 added Korean Blockly translations and removed the Python beta lessons, the latest listed release. zumi-version (GitHub) ↗

Common questions

How much does Zumi cost?

Zumi is listed at $179.99. $179.99 for one Zumi kit (SKU RL-ZM-100) on the Robolink store, listed as available in an October 2026 check. A Classroom Set of 10 kits with 30 minutes of professional development is $1,799.90. Activity cards ($25), a Driving School mat ($49.99) and a Zumitown mat ($124.99) are sold separately. The kit includes the Raspberry Pi Zero, Pi Camera, microSD card, LiPo battery and a screwdriver, so nothing else is needed. Kickstarter pledges in early 2019 started around $148 (£114).

Can Zumi be bought today?

Yes, it is on sale. Robolink sells the kit directly from its online store, and it showed as available in an October 2026 check. Robolink is based in San Diego, and its shipping origin and times are not stated on the product page (unconfirmed).

Who makes Zumi?

Zumi is made by Robolink (USA). It came out in 2019.

Can Zumi be programmed?

Full SDK. Zumi Dashboard served from the robot to a web browser, with Blockly lessons and Python in Jupyter notebooks. The Zumi Python library (function docs v2.92) covers driving, IR, gyro, OLED, sound and lights, plus OpenCV-based face, smile, stop-sign and QR detection, line following and a KNN color classifier. Firmware for the main board is open source (Arduino).

Does Zumi have AI chat or LLM support?

Possible via SDK. Programmed in Blockly or Python through the Zumi library, with no LLM features. Its machine-learning lessons train small models such as a KNN color classifier on the robot.

What age is Zumi for?

Ages 10+, per the maker.

Ratings & reviews

Related guides

Similar robots

Sources

Zumi Python function documentation ↗ · Zumi docs (Robolink) ↗ · Zumi lessons and demos (GitHub) ↗ · Zumi board firmware (GitHub) ↗ · Zumi Dashboard update log (GitHub) ↗ · Stuff.tv launch coverage (2019) ↗ · EFTM at CES 2019 ↗

Image credits